The village of Strathpeffer was a popular spa resort, owing to the discovery of sulphurous springs in the 18th century. The ‘Pump Room’, which can be found in the middle of the village dates back to the 19th century. The village’s appeal as a tourist resort was enhanced by the arrival of the railway in Dingwall in 1862, followed by a branch line from the Kyle of Lochalsh in 1885.
Today, the railways no longer operate to Strathpeffer, but the Victorian railway station still stands and is hugely popular with visitors to the village. The Old Railway is also home to the Highland Museum of Childhood, a fascinating exhibition which portrays childhood life in the Scottish Highlands.
Strathpeffer’s location makes it an ideal base to explore the Highlands, with many walkways which lead to an array of discoveries; follow the forest tracks to Cnoc Mar and Knock Farril to discover a Pictish Hill Fort with stunning vistas that will certainly hold a lasting impression!
We use the MacKay’s Hotel, which provides an excellent base for exploring the area.